What’s Next?

August 28, 2009

Now that the Livestrong Challenge Philadelphia has come and gone, the big question remains…. What’s next? 

It seems that since my father’s passing in March, that everything has been geared towards that particularly moment. And now that it has occurred  that we should be finished, but this would demean everything that we have worked for.  I believe that there is still work to be done, maybe not as much for my father, but for others and more importantly  in the spirit of my father. 

What does that mean in the spirit of my father? Well let me give you some insight into the life of my dad. I was fortunate to grow up in a loving home with a stable family.  It was compromised of my mother, Nancy, my father William (Bill), my brother John and me. This isn’t to say that our home was all sunshine and happiness all the time, but that it’s foundation has always been tempered by the greatest materials.  I’ve learned so many great things from my family and a great many of them came from my father.  Of all of  the lessons I’ve learned, I always loved my dad’s unselfish character.  He believed that if you had the ability to help someone it was your responsibility to help them.  More than that, it was simply the right thing to do.

As I grew up, I watched my dad carefully, because he was my hero, my idol, everything I hoped that one day I would embody.   What I witnessed was that were acts of great kindness to total strangers. He gave of himself constantly and in all ways, whether it be, money, clothes, food, a helping hand.  He was always the friendly face to help someone on the side of the road, to bring families (families we didn’t even know) back to our home during holidays to celebrate, because either they had broken down on the side of the road or he had learned that they didn’t have anyone to celebrate with. He did more for his family, but I always was amazed at how giving he was. It is in this vein that I want to continue the fight for my father, because I feel it is my responsibility to fight on to help others, but more importantly it is the right thing to do. My father would expect no less of me and I will not disappoint his memory or my own expectations of myself.

Therefore, to answer the question: What’s Next?  Here is the beginning of my mission statement.  I’m a teacher what do you want from me, I need checklists it makes me feel better:

So with Mission Impossible music playing in the background and I’m talking Peter Graves Mission Impossible not Tom Cruise Mission Impossible… Here’s my mission and I choose to accept it:

1. I will continue to raise money for the Lance Armstrong Foundation, I will continue to make strides in cancer awareness, research and aid any all comers that I may through my time or the resources that I find.

2.  I want to continue to organize events to bring people together and raise funds hopefully, in the near future to cross the 10,000.00 mark by October 1st, which means there is very little time left. Also, every year after that I want to increase that amount.

 3.  I want to continue the communication that has begun with some of the people I have met through this site and others, so that we can continue our conversations about cancer,  their personal stories and my own so that our loved ones may live on in our hearts and in our memories. I want to accomplish this because I feel the less you speak of these great people the harder it is to remember their likeness.  However, the more you speak of them, the more “alive” they are, the more you feel that they are with you.

 4. I will continue to challenge myself in running as I have already accepted the challenge to run the Broad Street Run in Philadelphia on May 2, 2010. I have never run a 10 mile race and this will be a huge feat, but I will do the race in support of my friend Scott and his family who have recently been afflicted by the demonic C.  I would love to start a Gameoncancer team for the Broad Street Run! Think about it we have plenty of time to prepare! Broad Street Run Website

5. I will live out everyday in a manner that is fitting to my father’s spirit that supports others and uses every ounce of energy I have.  

I believe that if I can do all of this that I will make a difference in the cancer community, find some continued solace for myself and meet a great deal of people. So here’s my question for you… Who’s with me!? (This is where you start to think of Jerry Maguire) Maybe, I should have made this a Tom Cruise -subliminal post…?

2 Responses to “What’s Next?”

  1. Leigh Says:

    My knees won’t let me do Broad Street, but I have some other running goals in mind.

    But of course you know I’m with you. 🙂

  2. Nick Says:

    I like the idea of the broad street run. I’ll check it out and I’ve done it before. 🙂

    When we going to buy you a bike? With the big 3-0 coming up, it could be a milestone present 😉


Leave a Reply

