Thanksgiving!

November 26, 2009

Thanksgiving is the commemoration of the Pilgrim Separatists overcoming the harsh obstacles of establishing a new colony in Plymouth, Massachusetts with the aid of their Native American allies, led of course by Tisquantum or as we know him Squanto.

In thinking about this year’s Thanksgiving, I wanted to focus today’s blog on the spirit of that first Thanksgiving and how the Pilgrims achieved such an incredible beginning, but only with the help and support of others.

This year has been a series of arduous emotional and physical tasks: my father’s passing, the sale of my home, the sale of my grandfather’s homes, the decline of other loved ones into alzheimers. The only way these have been and are being overcome has been with the aid and support of wonderful people, who have been present to add a kind word, make a kind gesture, or lend a helping hand. People have been so generous with their time that I cannot begin to express how thankful both my mother and I are. I know that we wouldn’t have found the strength to continue on without everyone’s time and energy. I have hope that like the Pilgrims, this may become the symbol of greater things to come. Some things have already begun to take shape, such as the creation of gameoncancer on wordpress, Twitter and of course our team for The Livestrong Challenge, and the Broad Street Run! I continue to be thankful for all your support and I hope that we can continue to work together to end cancer for everyone and through this add to everyone’s list of things to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

