New Beginnings

January 3, 2010

So Long 2009

 I have never looked forward to the end of a calendar year as much as I’m looked forward to the end of 2009.  This year has been an absolute emotional rollercoaster. Starting in January with my father’s diagnosis with an undetermined form of stage 4 cancer.  Those three months felt like an eternity. I remember vividly the commutes from Downingtown to Doylestown, to King of Prussia to Philadelphia to King of Prussia back to Downingtown. The trauma of late night researching. The emotional toll of believing unequiocally that things were going to improve and having that dream shatter like that of a pane of glass.  I remember each of the nurses, doctors, technicians, custodians: their faces, their names, their stories, the smell of each hospital and the layout of every room.  I remember the positive influences of the above mentioned people and definitely those whose care and concern were not evident. These memories where sometimes positive open the flood gates to relive the entire experience, but at the same time it has also led to the crusade that was to follow. That mission:  to eradicate cancer from the global health map and to be a constructive force in the lives of others who are undergoing this terrible and heartwrenching disease.

The acceptance of that mission is clearly evident with the creation of this blog, the Gameoncancer team and the events that we have planned and are planning. Those goals and the people that have entered my life or reemerged have meant the world to me, they have acted as my motivation, my driving force, because it has been driven home, how much impact we truly have upon one another if we choose to engage in selfless behavior.  The cancer community has been so accomodating, and open that I cherish the opportunity to become one amongst their ranks, a soldier in a war I will gladly wage. 

The year progressed into the tumultuous sale of my home, the return to Downingtown and to a gruelling schedule that has followed. I’m trying to remain upbeat and fight the demons and people that are trying to hold me back. I believe a great mental obstacle has been hurdled simply by the calendar changing and that great crystal ball falling signifying the end of 2009.

Better things have to begin and I’m going to do my best to make them happen, because I believe that no matter how bad things will get, I must not give in. I believe Winston Churchill, the former prime minister of Great Britain,  put it best, ” Never give in, never give in, never, never, never, never in nothing, great or small, large or petty, never give in except to convictions of honor and good sense.”

I hope that you all had a wonderful, happy and safe New Year.

 

4 Responses to “New Beginnings”

  1. robinesque Says:

    Brilliantly said … 2009 was a disappointing, anticlimactic year to say the least. I, too, am so looking forward to the promise of a new year — so here’s to 2010.

  2. Jen Says:

    Good luck in 2010! It’s GOTTA be uphill from here.


Leave a Reply

