January Jinx

January 19, 2010

Superstitions

 

I have always been a superstitious person. I don’t know what it is, but superstitions and I always go together like peas and carrots (Forest Gump.) People have tried to convince me that it has something to do with the fact that I played baseball forever, of which I’m not going to disagree with, let’s face it… Baseball players are some of the most superstitious people you can think of… Case in point – Tim Worrell of Relief Pitcher fame used to brush his teeth between innings and also, never used to step on the foul line. Instead he would leap over the lines.  My own superstitions go along with what I wear, how I sit, what I say at a particular time. It’s a little ridiculous, but I have to do them, even though I know they have no bearing on whatever is going on, I still participate in all of my ridiculous rituals.  

One great example came a few years ago, when I was hosting a playoff party to watch the Eagles play the Favre-full Green Bay Packers.  What I found was that every time I was in the main room with my guests, the Eagles would play poorly. Contrarily, every time I left the room they played well.  Therefore, I positioned myself in the back room, while the Eagles went on to overtime.  I watched the rest of the game, including the infamous 4th and 26 pass to Fred X (Freddie Mitchell) in my back room. I am an habitual rabbit foot carrier, Happy Rock holder, Four Leaf Clover finder, and finger crossing fidgeter (to name a few.) The funny thing is every time I think of all my superstitions, all I can think of is Stevie Wonder’s Superstition.  

Recently, my superstitions haven’t been so wonderful, as I have been the victim of horrible happenstances it seems every year in January.  The past three years from 2007 – 2009 have been awful or at least peculiar. 2007, I was the victim of a missed snow day or at least a two-hour delay gone wrong. One day our school district was one of a few districts not to cancel school or call for a two-hour delay.  I left for work a little bit earlier then usual and then became involved in a three car accident that was  unfortunately, unavoidable for me, as I came over a hill to find two cars already involved in an accident at the bottom of the hill.  Both cars were sideways and in both lanes.  I tapped the brakes and my car slid. I tried to throw my car into a curb, in hopes that my car would go up and over and unfortunately, that didn’t happen. It only spun me sideways and sent me sliding into the driver’s side door first into the back corner of an SUV.  This gave me a nice concussion and this was a week after I had broken my wrist in a football game. All in January! 

2008: Again, driving to work: I was making a left hand turn on to a side street, where a gentleman was sitting at a stop sign.  As I proceeded to make my left turn. This guy decided it was his turn to turn left as well, despite the fact that he had a stop sign and I did not.  He then slammed into the driver’s side door again, and killed my car.  Loved that car. Again in January! 

2009:  January of 2009 was the month that we learned that my father had been diagnosed with Stage 4 metastatic cancer of an undetermined origin.  This began two months of straight hell and torture. Ultimately, leading to his death in March. 

2010: This year and only days ago.  I have suffered from extreme back pain for approximately 3 weeks. I went to my family doctor and he quickly sent me off to be stuffed into a small tube. 

 

I emerged from the MRI machine to find out that I have a bulging disc and may have the joy of being nailed with needles for a long period of time. What frustrates me about this is that, I do not believe that I did anything to over-exert myself to cause such a condition.  Needless to say I’m a little bummed.  I know there are more important things to be upset about, and this problem is not the end of the world, but it is frustrating.  And yes, you are correct, I do have it better than the fine folks in Haiti (of which you can still donate and become involved – Helping Haiti (click here) and follow the links to find out how), but I do find it interesting that this pattern continues. I can only imagine what would befall me if i were to marry January Jones?  

January Jones - Mad Men's Betty Draper

January Jones - Mad Men's Betty Draper

One Response to “January Jinx”


  1. […] the official end of this despised month. Why do I want this month to end: Here’s why – January Jinx.   The worst part is that today could have taken a horrible turn.  I was up early and out the […]


Leave a Reply

