Broad Street Run

March 16, 2010

The Broad Street Run, which is fast approaching (May 2nd, 2010) , is a 10 mile race down Broad Street in Philadelphia. I have never had the distinct pleasure in running this race before, but earlier this year, I promised that I would do so in support of my friend and colleague Scott and his family.  They are currently in their own family struggle against cancer and as you all know the cancer community doesn’t back down from a collective fight.  Therefore, I committed to running the race as the one and only  gameoncancer, but with the mission in mind of supporting Scott and his family, all the while still honoring those that are fighting, have beaten cancer  or for those whose memories remain with us.

It’s interesting; however, as much as I’m running in support of Scott, I’ve been finding myself supported by Scott. For he has been my motivation over the last few weeks to get out and run.  Everyday, I see Scott head down from teaching to the gym to put some miles out on the treadmill and everytime I see him head that way it stirs me to make sure that I’m heading down the same path to put my own miles down.  I’m eager and intimidated by this race. Yes, I know that it is a fast course and downhill and all the other stuff that people tell me about, how this is an esay run, but at the same time I’m leaving a comfort level of small and intermediate runs.  This isn’t a small race, it’s going to be packed with approximately 30,000 people! 

Therefore,  I think this race will be a true test of will for me. It’s my mental form of battling cancer. Now, I’m not trying to say that this is in anyway comparable to fighting cancer, but it reflects for me the pure test and determination that a caregiver or combatant against cancer must have.  Each step on the road, in my head symbolizes that fight.  It will get harder as the miles rack up and I’m sure there will be many times that I will want to walk or stop all together. But I need to be determined and continue to push on, much as I attempt to tell others to push on. At the end of the day I hope to be standing at the finish line triumphant as I hope many of you will be with your personal battles. 

If you are thinking about coming out to run for Broad Street, do so!  I would be more than happy to see you all out there and cheer you on.  If you can’t make it, send me names and I will make a shirt to commemorate you or your loved ones as I run.

Either way, today, I wanted to give a shout out to my friend Scott, who has been driving me over the last few weeks to make sure that I get my chubby butt out on the road to run and more importantly for the effort he is putting out to raise awareness and funds for cancer research. I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to run for you and yours.  

One Response to “Broad Street Run”

  1. Nick Says:

    I am sorry I can’t make it for the run. I look forward to hearing how it goes! The nice thing about the run is that it’s straight and flat/slightly downhill at points. 🙂


Leave a Reply

