Running Again… 42 Days

March 22, 2010

Quick update on my running.  This morning I had every intention of getting up early and traveling up to Doylestown, to run in the YMCA 5K.  The alarms went off, I was up and stared at the numbers on my clock. They were evil 7:30 AM on Sunday… hmmm it  just didn’t sound right in my head, so I closed my eyes and let my body determine what was correct.  Sleep was overcame me and I drifted for a few more hours.  Upon waking; however, I was disappointed that I did not run the 5K, so I decided I would travel to a local high school and put my miles in.  In addition, I wanted to make sure that I put in the full 5K. 

I did. Fortunately, the weather cooperated, because the weather does effect how I feel when I run.  Sometimes, it makes me want to stop, but today, there was a subtle breeze and the temperature was cool, so I just took off.  Happily, I cruised through my 5K and felt good about what was taking place. My time was a little slower than I would have liked, but for not having run consistantly, I pleased.  We are currently looking at 42 days until the Broad Street Run. I need to continue this trend as I prepare to head down to UNC for my friend Dave’s wedding.  That means I need to put some miles in over the next few days. This is going to be a challenge!  But with words like the following from my friend, Scott: I’m pumped…

“Thanks for the kind words Dave. It’s been my pleasure knowing and working with you. Now, I am glad we can work together and motivate one another for such a worthwhile cause. As those miles mount on May 2nd, they will be easier knowing what our overall goal is!”

Leave a Reply

